The Gottfried Silbermann organ of St. Marienkirche is what we like to call the "little gem". Upon completion of its larger 'sister' in St. George, the contract was written up between Freiherr von Friesen and Silbermann on November 12, 1721 to build a new organ with a single manual for St. Marien. The original specification called for 9 stops (omitting the Subbass 16 and the Tertia 1 3/5) and Tremulant. Unfortunately no records exist regarding the addition of these two stops by Silbermann.
The St. Marien organ has not suffered from severe changes throughout the years. Documented works include: a number of repairs between 1732 and 1760, mainly concerning the bellows; 1833/43 a comprehensive overhaul proved necessary, carried out by the organ builder Urban Kreutzbach in Borna. He installed a pedal coupler, removed the tremulant and tuned the organ to equal temperament. Fortunately the parish waived the suggested installation of a Bordun 16' to replace the Tertia and Sufflet stops. The original bellows were replaced with an electric blower in 1935.
In 1942 considerable damages of the church building became obvious which lead to the temporary removal of the organ. For the Bach fest in 1950 the organ was put up in the old townhall in Leipzig and thereafter lent as an exhibit for the Berlin Bach exhibition. It took 10 years (1960) to see the organ returned to St. Marien, its original location.