1721 St. Georgenkirche Silbermann

1721 St. Georgenkirche Silbermann

or Buy NOW



The organ of St. Georgenkirche in Rötha, Germany is considered one of the few remaining nearly all original instruments by Gottfried Silbermann.

The instrument has been visited by many famous organists and has been played by Felix Mendelssohn during his period in Leipzig only 15 minutes away. Experience a true wonder of the baroque period.

History | Send this page to a friend



"The Gottfried Silbermann organ is absolutely beautiful ... such a sweet intimate sound."

- Andy RichardsFilm Composer & Keyboardist


Listen to the details.

  • Includes over 1100 audio samples.
  • Accurately modeled virtual console display.
  • 24-bit 48 kHz HD stereo audio resolution.
  • Original church acoustics up to 3 seconds.
  • Accurately reproduced mechanical noises.
  • Original tuning with alternate temperament & tuning options.
  • Tracker action modelling.
  • Compatible with AU & VST hosts.
  • Seamless integration with Hauptwerk sequencer.
  • Up to 8 seamless loops per note.
  • Larger stop display virtual console included.
  • 10 generals included for ease of registration.
  • Fully modeled wind system.
  • Pristine recording quality.

Featured in Disney's Frankenweenie

Film composers Danny Elfman and Andy Richards incorporated the Gottfried Silbermann virtual organ into the sound track for the stop-animation Disney film Frankenweenie, directed by Tim Burton.

The Silbermann organ is used to accompany Elsa Van Helsing (played by Winona Ryder) during her "Dutch Day" performance of "Praise Be New Holland" where she sings on two separate cues.

Download the soundtrack in iTunes >






  • Tuning: A=435 Equal Temperament.
  • Keyboard compass: 49 notes.
  • Pedal compass: 25 notes (extended to 27).
  • Tracker action.

23 Stops


Principal 8
Bordun 16
Octava 4
Rohrflöte 8
Spitzflöte 4
Quinta 3
Octava 2
Mixtur 3
Cymbeln 2
Cornet 3


Principal 4
Gedackt 8
Quintadena 8
Rohrflöte 4 
Nasat 3
Octava 2
Tertia 1 3/5
Quinta 1 1/2
Sifflet 1
Mixtur 3


Trommete 8
Posaune 16
Principal-Baß 16

Virtual Performances

These virtual performances were played live by the artist using the Hauptwerk built-in audio recorder.

Historical temperaments played through Hauptwerk can be heard on the following tracks:
Kellner (tr. 4,5,12,14,18), Werckmeister III  (tr.15,16,17), Kirnberger III (tr. 7), Lehman-Bach (tr. 19).

Virtual Console

The St. George Silbermann virtual instrument features interactive on-screen graphical controls with a photo-realistic console display. Animated stops, couplers, keyboards, and pedals are all accessible via MIDI input or by touch screen. The stop control display offers larger stop knobs for easy use with touch screens and includes 10 generals for ease of registration changes.

Console displays include:

  • Console View - A virtual reproduction of the original organ console.
  • Full View  - All controls on a single page for using with a single monitor.



There are currently no downloads or updates available for this instrument.










  • Mac OS X® or Windows®.
  • Hauptwerk Advanced or Basic Edition.
  • Intel® Core™ (quad-core or dual quad-core or equivalent).
  • 2-4 GB RAM.
  • Core Audio (Mac) or ASIO (Windows) audio interface.
  • MIDI keyboards & MIDI interface for live playing.
  • AU or VST compatible host for MIDI sequencing (not required).


Bit Rate Lossless Compression Multiple Loops Memory (RAM)
16 Y N 920 MB
16 (Default) Y Y 1.30 GB
24 Y Y 2.40 GB
24 N Y 2.50 GB
24 N Y 3.90 GB


  • Internet connection required for license update.
  • Hauptwerk USB key required (not included).
  • License updates are issued via email.
  Mac and Mac OS are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and other countries. Intel is a trademark of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.